February 23, 2015

Sebastien Bubeck has been awarded the 2015 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow in Computer Science. The $50,000 fellowship recognizes promising early career scientists who have been nominated by their colleagues.

February 18, 2015

Prof. Han Liu has received a National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award, effective September, 1, 2015. The title of his project is "An Integrated Inferential Framework for Big Data Research and Education". Prof. Liu aims to develop a new generation of inferential tools for assessing uncertainty of complex statistical machine learning methods unique to Big Data analysis. The CAREER Award is the most prestigious award from the NSF in support of junior faculty who exemplify the...

February 16, 2015

The Institute of Mathematical Statistics has selected Han Liu as the winner of this year’s Tweedie New Researcher Award.

Dr Liu is selected "for making fundamental and outstanding contributions to the theory and methods of nonparametric and semiparametric graphical models, with innovative applications in brain science and genomics.”

The IMS Tweedie New Researcher Award will fund Dr. Liu’s travel to present...

February 16, 2015

Georgina Hall, a PhD student, has been awarded the Engineering Council/GEC Excellence in Teaching Award for her role as a TA of ORF 309 "Probability and Stochastic Systems" in Fall 2014.

February 5, 2015

The American Statistical Association has selected Han Liu as the winner of this year’s Noether Young Scholar Award for for outstanding early career contributions to nonparametric statistics.

The Noether Young Scholar Award is given each year to an accomplished young researcher. This award is made to foster, encourage, and support both research and teaching in nonparametric statistics. The Noether...

February 3, 2015

Professors Amirali Ahmadi and Ramon van Handel have been awarded the 2014 Teaching Award by the Engineering council for their teaching of ORF 363 “Computing and Optimization” and ORF 309 “Probability and Stochastic Systems”, respectively. They are among four professors who taught in 2014 to be selected for this honor. Remarkably, they both taught the class for the first time.

The Teaching Awards ceremony will be on Thursday, February 19th, 2015, in Friend Convocation...